UNC Asheville Board of Trustees Members and Officers for 2017-18

Featured image: 
UNC Asheville students on the Ramsey Library steps

The UNC Asheville Board of Trustees has elected new officers for the 2017-18 year, Chair Kennon Briggs, Vice Chair Rick Lutovsky and Secretary Wilma Sherrill. The board will also have three new members, Karen K. Brown, Jim Peterson and student representative Tim Hussey.

Briggs and three other trustees – J.W. Davis, Dr. Ronald Paulus and Cissie Stevens have been reappointed for a second term on the board. Also continuing to serve on the board are Rick Lutovsky, Bob Long Jr., N. King Prather, Robby Russell, Wilma Sherrill and Oscar Wong.

“We are grateful for the continued service of our Board of Trustees and look forward to welcoming our new members,” said Chancellor Mary K. Grant. “They are champions for the public liberal arts and sciences, and stewards for our students, faculty, and staff. We’ll see them on campus for meetings and events throughout the year, and they work closely with campus to ensure our future direction and success. I know from working closely with each board member that they are excited to hear from our students about their work in the classroom and the community.”

Briggs, who is beginning a second four-year term on the board, has had a distinguished career in North Carolina education. He served for 15 years in different executive capacities in the North Carolina Community College System, and since retiring, has provided interim leadership for a number of community colleges, most recently as interim president of College of The Albemarle. Briggs is also the father of a UNC Asheville graduate and was active in the university’s National Parents Council.

New board members Brown and Peterson are both Asheville-area residents. Brown, who was appointed to the board by the UNC Board of Governors, earned a BFA from UNC Asheville in 1981 and is a full-time landscape painter with a studio in Asheville’s River Arts District. She is a member of the Asheville Area Arts Council board and has experience as an art teacher and as a realtor.

Peterson, former CEO of Metroquip, a construction equipment rental company based in Minneapolis, has chaired the Board of Directors of Manna FoodBank and is a volunteer with the Asheville chapter of Friends of the Blue Ridge Parkway. His business and MBA degrees were earned at Western Illinois University and the University of Minnesota. Peterson was appointed to the UNC Asheville Board of Trustees by the North Carolina General Assembly.

Peterson and Brown will join the board at the beginning of the academic year. They replace Pat Smith and Piyush Patel, who have completed their service as trustees and rotate off the board after completing their terms.  

New trustee Tim Hussey, from Greenville, North Carolina, is president of UNC Asheville’s Student Government Association and was sworn in as a trustee at the June meeting. He is a senior majoring in psychology with a minor in sociology who has previously held numerous leadership roles on campus and won the university’s Outstanding Diversity Program Award last spring for his leadership in the program, Black Lives Matter: The Revival.

Hussey replaces outgoing SGA President Charlie White, who graduated summa cum laude in May with a B.A. in French and political science. He will attend Duke Law School in the fall.