UNC Asheville Honors Faculty with Spring 2017 Awards

slider image option one : 
2017 UNC Asheville faculty award winners

UNC Asheville presented its annual faculty awards at the final spring 2017 faculty meeting and reception on May 8, 2017. Award winners received nominations from students and colleagues citing their outstanding achievements in teaching, scholarship and service.

Faculty Award Recipients

Heidi KelleyProfessor of Sociology and Anthropology Heidi Kelley received the 2017 UNC Board of Governors Award for Teaching Excellence. Her teaching philosophy brings together the scholarship of social anthropology with the lived experience of her students, with her own work extending beyond the classroom through a faculty fellowship with the Key Center for Community Engaged Learning and partnerships in the Asheville community. For more information on Kelley’s achievements in earning this award, see the news release.

Patrick Foo, associate professor of psychology, was named UNC Asheville’s 2017 Distinguished Teacher of the Year for his commitment to helping struggling students succeed, undergraduate research mentorship, and Patrick Foofor his “absolutely stunning classroom lectures and laboratory exercises,” as one nomination described. Read more about Foo’s award.

Associate Professor of Classics Lora Holland - Teaching Excellence in the Humanities

Associate Professor of Chemistry Herman Holt Jr. - Teaching Excellence in the Natural Sciences

Assistant Professor of Sociology & Anthropology Lyndi Hewitt - Teaching Excellence in the Social Sciences

Assistant Professor of Chemistry Amanda Wolfe - Teaching Excellence for Untenured Faculty Award

Adjunct Lecturer of Humanities Chrystal Cook - Teaching Excellence - Non-Full-time Faculty Award

Associate Professor of Management & Accountancy Micheal Stratton - Distinguished Service Award

Associate Professor of Drama Lise Kloeppel - Distinguished Service Award

Professor of Physics Michael Ruiz - Scholarly and Creative Achievement Award

Assistant Professor of English Amanda Wray - Scholarly and Creative Achievement Award

Professor of Political Science Dwight Mullen - Ruth and Leon Feldman Professor for Service

Professor of Drama Rob Bowen - Ruth and Leon Feldman Professor for Scholarly and Creative Work